Josh Martin on tap, birds, and beer

What is your favourite city to visit on tour?

Josh Martin by David Cooper
Josh Martin by David Cooper

My favourite is whenever I can go somewhere I’ve never been before. I like to explore a bit while traveling. Touring interior/northern BC is always beautiful and a lot of fun. But I also really enjoy performing work in bigger hubs like Toronto, with larger audiences and usually a chance to see some friends and family while visiting.

What style/technique was your first dance lesson? 

I took a tap class first, but soon after my older brother went into a “street jazz” class (with the inclusion of “street” simply being a successful ploy by the studio to get more male dancers enrolled), and I begged my mother to put me in his class. He quit the next year because it was embarrassing dancing with his little brother, but I kept going.

What profession, other than dance artist, would you like to attempt and why?

Ornithologist, because for some reason I have an unexplainable passion for learning about and helping endangered/exotic birds, OR an astronomer of some sort, because I can’t imagine ever being bored in that field.

What do you like to eat before a show? After the show?

Before – Half a club sandwich and a small salad.

After – Beer and Poutine (and whatever was left in the greenroom).

What is New Animal about in five words or less?

Release The Beast.

This interview was edited for length and content.

Leave a Reply

