Shay Kuebler on theatre, karate and curiosity

Shay Kuebler by David Cooper
Shay Kuebler by David Cooper

What style/technique was your first dance lesson? 

At the age of 5, I studied theatre and karate, which would lead to my beginnings in dance. My first dance lesson was in hip-hop. 

What profession, other than dance artist, would you like to attempt and why?

I’m very interested in working in film as well as with music production. From my theatre background, I’d be very interested in working in film in front of and behind the camera, as well as working in theatre as an actor or director. With my current producing and choreographing, I’m also finding a great passion in creating and editing music for stage and performance.

What do you like to eat before a show? After the show?

Depending on the physicality in the work, I tend to eat some fruit, seeds and nuts over the course of the day to keep my energy up. I will then eat some pasta with a vegetable juice or smoothie a couple hours before the performance. Directly after the show I like to get some sugar and protein in my body. I traditionally do some form of vegetable-based protein powder mixed with coconut water. After the immediate protein and sugar boost, I will traditionally eat some animal protein with some starches like potatoes or sweet potatoes. A beer is also a nice way alleviate some of the tension in the body and stimulate circulation.

What is your favourite city to visit on tour?

I especially like touring because we get to visit and spend time in cities, and with communities that are new and unique. This process of discovery and learning about the communities we perform in, along with the development of the connection between the artists and the audience is one of the greatest returns from touring. Although I haven’t performed or toured in this city, my favourite city to tour to would be Tokyo. I’ve always had a great connection to Japanese art forms and disciplines and, from travel and training in Tokyo, I believe that it would be one of the greatest experiences to share work with Japanese audiences and to immerse your artistic practice in Japanese culture.

What is New Animal about in five words or less?

Visceral responsiveness, raw and curious humans.

Leave a Reply

