First Things with Kate Holden

Kate Holden where did you meet Kate Franklin?

I first remember becoming aware of Kate, and I guess we met, the summer of 2001. It was either during a TDT spring intensive or “Breaking Ground” another great summer intensive that used to happen in TO. She had a shaved head and was awesome!

Molly Johnson, Joshua Van Tassel, Kate Holden and Kate Franklin at dance: made in Canada 2011
Molly Johnson, Joshua Van Tassel, Kate Holden and Kate Franklin at dance: made in Canada 2011

Why is your company called firstthingsfirst? 

We started the company to dance in the work that we wanted to dance in, to be able to prioritize for ourselves, to feel like we could make some artistic choices. We didn’t really know what we were doing in terms of producing a show but knew that we needed to start with the first thing and go from there. 

What style/technique was your first dance lesson? 

I would have been in some great community “movement” classes as a kid. My first real technique classes were Ballet and Creative Movement with Pia Bouman.

What profession, other than dance artist, would you like to attempt and why?

Osteopathy. I am fascinated by how the body functions. I now practice Cranial Sacral Therapy (which is related to Osteopathy) and I really enjoy the listening and movement that is involved. There is a satisfaction that I feel from working with another person’s body and trying to understand it – somewhat similar to working with a dance partner.

What do you like to eat before a show?

What do you like to eat after the show?

I eat fairly well in general. Before a show I prefer to eat a really balanced meal three hours before hand, with a good protein like chicken or fish, brown rice and leafy green vegetables. Afterwards, I’m likely to eat whatever is in front of me and am pretty happy with a plate of nachos.

What is with a trace about in five words or less?

It’s hard and difficult to encompass the nature of three separate works with one title or explanation. But maybe the best way I can say it, today, is it’s about the impact we have on the world around us and it on us.


What other DanceWorks Mainstage show will you attend this season?

I will likely see most of them as I really love to support the work of the community and visiting artists. I won’t see A Soldier’s Tale by Michael Greyeyes, or at least not from the audience perspective, because I’m performing in that work as well.

This interview has been edited for content and length.

Leave a Reply

