Dora Nominations 2013

Mimi Beck works very hard, often for years in advance, to curate the Mainstage season.  It is gratifying when those productions are recognized by the Dora Jury with nominations.  The Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts’ Dora Mavor Moore Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate a year of performances gone by.

Mimi Beck and Heidi Strauss at the 2008 Dora Awards
Mimi Beck and Heidi Strauss at the 2008 Dora Awards

We are very proud that dancer/choreographers Nova Bhattacharya and Louis Laberge-Côté (Akshongay), alongside Susie Burpee and Linnea Swan (Road Trip) were recognized for their artistry in both the choreography and performance categories.    In addition, Marc Parent and Phil Strong received nominations for their creative work on Akshongay.

Every season, Mimi Beck programs CoWorks performances as a way to support the independent dance community with self-presentations.  This year, Molly Johnson’s performance in Marie France Forcier’s Lab Rats was nominated for Outstanding Performance by a Female Artist.  Belinda McGuire was also recognized in the same category for her performance in the Heist Project. It has been a good day.

Congratulations to all the Dora Award Nominees!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s