Get ready for the ride – Talking road trips with Susie Burpee and Linnea Swan

What was your best road trip experience?

Susie Burpee: A crazy Winnipeg-to-Vancouver for lollapallooza, circa 1991.  My brother took the wheel at 4am in Regina and mistakenly drove us almost all the way back to the ‘peg, so we had to start all over again…

Linnea Swan: Probably the time I drove from Winnipeg to Saskatoon in the middle of May – all by myself – and it started snowing. Then it started blowing, I was listening to ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ on my tape player and had to keep so focused on the road that I couldn’t even reach down to turn it off. Not the most comforting music to have playing over and over again during a crazy storm. Anyway, I made it home in one piece for my sister’s convocation, and it was a great party. Best road trip ever? Maybe not, but certainly the most relieved to arrive at my destination…

Where is your favourite place to visit?

SB: Any place with people to watch

LS: Home.

What music inspires you on the road?

SB: Tom Petty’s first solo album, Full Moon Fever 

LS: Certainly not Pink Floyd. I’d have to say Roger Whittaker – we used to listen to that on family road trips (8-track!) and whistle along, horribly.

Strangest thing you’ve ever seen on the highway?

SB: I don’t know if it’s really the strangest…maybe the most outstanding: Terry Fox in the morning mist on the Trans-Canada, north of Superior, when I was a kid in the back of my parents’ station wagon.

LS: This is not necessarily the strangest, but certainly the most disturbing. I was not far behind another vehicle when they hit a deer – I saw the deer go flying through the air. It was scary, but everyone was OK, including the deer surprisingly – he just got nicked and went for a crazy ride.

What are five words that describe this Road Trip?

SB: enigmatic, fast-twitch, passionate, competitive, complicit.

LS: mysterious, hilarious, nostalgic, touching, fabulous.

This interview has been edited for content.

Leave a Reply

