Arrivals and Departures with Lua Shayenne

What is your favourite word?

Love

What is your favourite book?

Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist

Where is your favourite place?

Nowhere and everywhere, I love to travel and get pretty restless staying in one place too long. I loved Dogon Country in Mali, Vienna in Austria, Florence in Italy, Elimina Castle in Ghana, and Cape Breton in Canada.

What do you like to eat on your birthday?

Fruit pie and my mummy’s lemon meringue pie

What music do you listen to? 

World music mainly, like Rokia Traore, Les Freres Guisses and of course, Sade. I adore French rapper Kery James. He’s a poet.

What is your guilty pleasure television show or website?

The best show, you can watch re-runs all the time: The Cosby Show.

What style/technique was your first dance lesson? 

Some sort of jazz … I was so young I don’t know. I just loved it.

What is your piece about in five words or less? 

My production DEPARTURE 00:00 recalls my childhood in Africa and immigrating to Canada.

For more information:  http://www.luashayenne.com/

This interview has been edited for length and content.

Leave a Reply

