60 Years with Mi Young Kim

60 Years of Rhythm and Movement

KDSS/Mi Young Kim Dance

A DanceWorks CoWorks presentation

George Weston Recital Hall

Toronto Centre for the Performing Arts

5040 Yonge St.

One Night Only – Nov. 15, 2011 7:30 pm

For Tickets, Please call: 1-855-985-2787

http://www.ticketmaster.ca

 

Interview by Lucy Rupert

Lucy Rupert: What is your upcoming show all about?

Mi Young Kim: “60 Years of Rhythm & Movement” is a showing of the work I am most proud of  since I have established my career in Canada. It concisely demonstrates what I have achieved as a dancer, choreographer, teacher, presenter and partner in the arts.

LR: What do you hope audiences will experience from seeing “60 Years of Rhythm & Movement”?

MYK: By showing a series of traditional, contemporary and creative pieces,

I hope the audience will see the value and potential of Korean dance in Canada, adding much richness and uniqueness to Canadian dance. The dances that will be presented encompass the classical, folk, traditional and contemporary genres with a lot of interconnection between the dance, visual and musical elements.

I am happy to share the stage with Keiko Kitano, Sampradaya Dance Creations, Kozakura Sensui, York Dance Ensemble and Samulnori Canada.

LR: What keeps you inspired to create and perform and teach?

MYK: In my twenties and thirties, I was inspired by watching famous dancers’ performances. Looking back on it now, it was just an imitation, not an inspiration.

In my forties and fifties, I was especially interested in the seasonal changes: the fresh green leaves sprouting from the trees in early spring, the crystal clear lake on a hot summer night, the fresh autumn breeze and the falling leaves, and a snowman in winter. The expressions and postures of Virgin Mary statues were also material for my work.

These days, I get inspiration from people around me, from positive traits of the people I encounter daily, and how they transform into mutually beneficial interactions.

LR: What is the most important thing you would like to convey about Korean dance to people unfamiliar with the forms?

MYK: Dance is a wonderful way to represent a culture because it touches our

visual, aural and tactile senses.  Korean dance is delicate and introspective, yet strong and powerful, which allows people to express their emotions gradually through the dance.

I think, through my work, audiences can have greater insight into the Korean culture. My work also reflects on Canadian culture and how it has changed me.

LR: What do you most want to celebrate with this 60th anniversary performance?

MYK: I want to celebrate culturally-specific dance in Canada, what artists like

myself have achieved here, and my long, very active and fruitful career at age 65.

LR: I’m sure I speak for many in the dance community from all disciplines and forms of dance when I wish you a very happy celebration!

This interview has been edited for content and length.

 

Leave a Reply

