4 Questions about Heartbreak in 2 parts

… an interview with Sasha Ivanochko of black and blue dance projects

creator and performer of The future memory heartbreak junction, Diptych

Presented by DanceWorks at the Enwave Theatre from November 4-6 at 8pm

Interview by Lucy Rupert

Sasha Ivanochko by Sam BaardmanLR: How did you come up with your character for this piece?

SI: She is a combination of elements: a stash of torch songs that I wanted to sing; a hitchhiking motif, which just kept persisting in the studio; a dress from my closet and a pair of shoes I purchased from Fluevog. When I put all these things together, and put on some dramatic make up, she came alive.

LR: What inspired you to create a partner piece?

SI: I wanted to see what more I could say about this “Her”. Introducing her heartbreak man, I hope to explode the assumptions one makes about my character from viewing the solo. I also wanted to express ideas about the psyche of the performer and address the theme of love again. It’s the main artistic theme present in all my work, and it’s an endlessly fascinating topic to explore.

LR: You sing in this work; have you always sung? Was it something you took on just for this piece?

I’ve always wanted to sing, but thought I couldn’t. My vocal teacher Katherine Duncanson helped me move past that idea, and now I see the voice as an additional tool for expression. I developed a speaking voice for my character that adds to her colour, contour and complexity, in ways that can’t be described physically.

LR: Lots of women are creating dances and lots of women are dancing dances. But I don’t recall having seen something so female – not feminine, but female – as The future memory heartbreak junction, Diptych.

Sasha IvanochkoSI: I spent a lot of my formative dance years interpreting the work of men. I loved all the work I did with them, and felt deeply connected to their physicality. This is probably because my training as a gymnast left me with an athletic approach to movement and an upper body strength that is more often seen with men. However, I noticed much of the work I was interpreting either ignored, neutered or romanticized femininity. I wanted the female perspective to be brought forward in my work. My work is also very intimate, and that’s not typical either.

Buy tickets now

Watch a performance clip

Get a backstage view of rehearsal footage and interview with Sasha Ivanochko

Leave a Reply

